This standout crimson cottage, nestled between its neighbors, holds a special place in Georgetown’s history. Believed to be built in the late 1700s, it has long been a frequently photographed neighborhood fixture. It’s been written about in The Georgetowner and other newspapers and been on the Georgetown House Tour. It is likely the oldest, smallest and cutest house in town.
The one-bedroom home opens to a living room with dark wood paneling and weathered wooden beams crisscrossing the ceiling. The elegant brick fireplace is adorned with pewterware. Past the study, laundry room and half-bath that mark the end of the original house, a kitchen and sitting space were added, with natural light coming from three skylights and a large glass door. The Belgian block floor mirrors the original flooring in the study and parts of the living room. A winding wooden staircase leads up to the single bedroom under the eaves, with a full bathroom and an office overlooking the rear garden area.
The house is being sold “as-is” and furnished, with beautiful wooden desks, rustic décor and books belonging to Ann Caracristi, the owner since 1950. A cryptologist during World War II, Caracristi became the first woman deputy director of the National Security Agency. She died at the age of 94 on Jan. 10, leaving no immediate survivors but a most recognizable home.
Offered at $865,000
Long & Foster Georgetown