This Sunday, May 7, from noon to 5 p.m., more than 30 artist’s studios in the former Jackson School building at 3050 R St. NW, across from Montrose Park, will be open to the public. Visitors can meet and greet local artists at the event, which will include refreshments, live music and an outdoor mural workshop for children at 3 p.m.
The artists — painters, sculptors, ceramicists and photographers — who make use of individual or shared studio space in the building include: Juanita D. Adams, Sue Baum, Leslie Blackmon, Clarissa Bonde, Howard Carr, Erika Cleveland, Wendy Cortesi, Arthur Day, Barbara B. Downs, Jean Eckert, Anne L. Emmet, Debi Fox, Robert Haft, Philip Huber, Katie Ikeler, Robert A. Johnson, Sherry Kaskey, Vivienne Kelley, Mary Kletter, Micheline Lederer, Willie Leftwich, Jane Lepscky, Simma Liebman (emeritus), Mary Beth McDaniel, Toby Mercuro, Rosie Moore, Jeannette Murphy, Nancy Siebert Murphy, Elizabeth M. Naden, Lisa Neher, Deedy Ogden, Denise Paolella, Jane Passman, Sherry Patten, Jill Phillips, Karen Ruckman, LeeAnn Schray, Amelia Shachoy, Christine Smart, Mary Jane Spelman, Suzy Stack, J. Thomas Wells, Deborah Whyte (emeritus) and Elyse Wolf.
The 1890 building closed as a D.C. public school in 1970 and the artist collective began renting the space during the 1980s. In 2015, the center negotiated an extension of its lease until 2018.