In the hope of keeping the challenges of 2020, the year now ending, in perspective, here is the second of three looks into Georgetown’s past.
As the nation has expanded and transformed, Georgetown has adapted to hardships and flourished. And in many fascinating ways, the city’s earlier experiences have paralleled our own.
Holy Trinity Catholic Church and Georgetown University have recently completed the long-awaited restoration of this beautiful, sacred space, located on a hill above Georgetown.
The District’s Historic Preservation Office, forensics experts from the National Museum of Natural History and local historians are grappling with how to interpret the findings.
The hope is to have the two brand-new, green-surfaced courts open to the public by the end of September, depending on the weather.
In its analysis, the DCFACES Working Group “reviewed the namesake legacy of 153 assets, including schools, residential housing, streets, neighborhoods, parks, recreation centers, libraries and monuments.”
Here is a account of Memorial Day 2013 by our late colleague and writer Gary Tischler — Right Time, Right Place, Memorial Day Reflections.
Built in 1850 and once owned by Frederick Douglass, the carriage house now makes a stunning contrast to the nearby Victorian-era (and older) homes.
Among the plan’s design concepts are improved canal and towpath access and accessibility, increased interpretive and educational opportunities and more welcoming and usable open spaces.
A town meeting and workshop to view two alternative designs and to collect and consider public input on the Georgetown Canal Plan will be held on Nov. 7 at 7 p.m.