Note: All submitted events must be approved before they appear in the calendar.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

ASO Presents: Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3 “Scottish”

November 4, 2018 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm UTC+0

$5 – $80

Saturday November 3, 2018 at 8pm
The Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall and Arts Center
4915 E. Campus Drive
Alexandria, VA 22311

Sunday November 4, 2018 at 3pm – with pre-concert talk at 2:15pm
George Washington Masonic Memorial
101 Callahan Drive
Alexandria, VA 22301

James Ross, Music Director
Tanya Anisimova, cellist

Tickets: $20-$80 adult, $5 youth, $10 student or 703-548-0885

The Alexandria Symphony Orchestra, led by Music Director James Ross, celebrates the past and present of American music. In recognition of Leonard Bernstein’s 100th birthday celebration, the orchestra will perform two pieces from his acclaimed musicals, including the Overture to West Side Story and “Three Dances Episodes” from On the Town. The concert also features the world premiere of Jessica Krash’s cello concerto with cellist Tanya Anisimova. Closing the program will be Felix Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3 “Scottish,” loosely based on the composer’s travels in Scotland with his longtime friend Karl Klingemann.


November 4, 2018
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm UTC+0
$5 – $80
Event Category:
Event Tags:


George Washingon Masonic Memorial
101 Callahan Drive
Alexandria, VA 22301


alexandria symphony
View Organizer Website
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap