Shakespeare Awards: John Hurt, Stacy Keach and Diana Rigg

Beth Mendelson and Rick Leach.

Three theatrical legends were recognized with the William Shakespeare Award for Classical Theatre at the Harman Center for the Arts Gala Oct. 5. John Hurt and Stacy Keach received their awards from artistic director Michael Kahn. Master of ceremonies Judith Light accepted on behalf of Diana Rigg, who was unable to attend. The Beech Street Foundation received the Sidney Harman Award for Philanthropy in the Arts. Following the program, guests went to the National Building Museum with decor inspired by Leonato’s garden from “Much Ado About Nothing.” The gala raised more than $1 million for the theater’s art education programs

Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.