Mayor’s Awards Go to Smith, Cafritz, Kuno and Ueno

The 30th Annual Mayor’s Arts Awards were held Oct. 29 at the Historic Lincoln Theatre. D.C. Commission on the Arts and Humanities chair Kay Kendall and interim director Lisa Richards Toney presented the first award for Impact on Culture and Humanities to Arena Stage Artistic Director Molly Smith, who said, “This city is the juice that carries me forward.” Georgetowners and doctors Sachiko Kuno and Ryuji Ueno were awarded for Visionary Leadership. D.C. Mayor Muriel Bower presented the Award for Lifetime Achievement to the tireless Peggy Cooper Cafritz, who enthused, “The mayor has had the vision and has executed my dreams.” Young tap dancer Luke Spring received a standing ovation.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *