GBA Honors Police, Appalachian Spring; Elects 2018 Officers

With business and community leaders on hand, the Georgetown Business Association gathered Dec. 13 at Malmaison Restaurant on K Street for its holiday reception — along with awards and elections. A nonprofit membership organization founded in 1976, GBA is “committed to maintaining and improving the climate for conducting business in Georgetown.”

David and Paula Brooks of Appalachian Spring, which closed its Wisconsin Avenue store after 48 years in Georgetown, were given a lifetime achievement award.

Two public safety awards were given to the Metropolitan Police Department: one to officer David Mosley, who could not attend (the award was accepted by Second District Commander Melvin Gresham); another to Police Chief Peter Newsham. Citing his desk job and not being at risk as much as the other men and women of MPD, Newsham said he accepted the award on behalf of all of them.

Outgoing GBA President Sonya Bernhardt was given a first-ever special community service award by the organization. She thanked all for working to help end the Georgetown liquor-license moratorium. Bernhardt welcomed the new executive director of Georgetown Main Street, Jessie Himmelrich, and thanked GBA Vice President Hope Solomon for all her hard work that made it possible. She also thanked Teresa Nielson of Long & Foster Real Estate and Zubair Popal, owner of Malmaison.

The GBA officers for 2018 are Hope Solomon, president; Constantine Ferssizidis, vice president; Alan Helfer, treasurer; and Paul Monarch, secretary.

GBA President Sonya Bernhardt with awardees David and Paula Brooks of Appalachian Spring. Photo by Robert Devaney.

Tom Scanlon, 2018 GBA President Hope Solomon and 2018 Secretary Paul Monarch. Photo by Robert Devaney.

Billy Martin III and Billy Martin IV. Photo by Robert Devaney.

Business owners Chip Dent and John Galligan. Photo by Robert Devaney.

Teresa Nielson and Margaret Heimbold flank awardee GBA President Sonya Bernhardt. Photo by Robert Devaney.

Wendy “Red” Ezrailson and Christine Warnke. Photo by Robert Devaney.

Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner Ed Solomon and MPD Second District Commander Melvin Gresham. Photo by Robert Devaney.

EagleBank’s Mariama Barrie, C.J. Joyner and Jeremy Camp. Photo by Robert Devaney.

D.C. Police Chief Peter Newsham, GBA President Sonya Bernhardt, Ward 2 Council member Jack Evans and Advisory Neighborhood Commissioner Jim Wilcox. Photo by Robert Devaney.

Walter Gorski and David Berkebile of Georgetown Tobacco flank Ann O’Donnell. Photo by Robert Devaney.

Willie Tate of TD Bank, Jessie Himmelrich of Georgetown Main Street and Elnaz Safavieh and Louie Atagan, both of TD Bank. Photo by Robert Devaney.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *