CAG Elects Pamla Moore President


The annual meeting of the Citizens Association of Georgetown was held at Dumbarton House, 2715 Q St. NW, on Tuesday, May 22, with Council member Jack Evans and Del. Eleanor Holmes Norton in attendance.

After committee chairs made their reports, CAG elected officers and directors for 2018-19 and presented its annual awards to community leaders.

The new lineup of officers is: Pamla Moore, President; Cheryl Gray, Vice President; Tara Sakraida Parker, Secretary; and Jerry Libin, Treasurer. Elected as directors were Jennifer Romm, Jennie Buehler, Florence Auld and John Rentzepis.

The Belin Award for Distinguished Service was posthumously given to Betsy Cooley, CAG executive director from 2002 to 2016. Neville Waters and the Mt. Zion Female Union Band Society were presented the William Cochran Community Service Award. The Martin-Davidson Award for Outstanding Businesses was given to Hamood Abutaa, owner of Georgetown Exxon and Georgetown Shell.

Special Appreciation Awards went to V.V. Harrison and Robert Laycock for their longtime support of the community. Also, awards were given to departing board members Hannah Isles, John Richardson, Victoria Rixey and Barbara Downs.

Share this:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.