Your Guide to Fall Galas

0
912
At the 2018 National Symphony Orchestra’s opening season gala: Anne and Greg Polk with Deborah Rutter, president of the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Photo by Robert Devaney.

SEPTEMBER 27

St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital Golden Gala

The event is an opportunity to honor the children of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. Embassy of France. Contact Erin Farrell at 703-650-4504 or erin.farrell@stjude.org. 

Halcyon Awards

The Halcyon Awards recognize and honor talented arts icons, successful social entrepreneurs and public policy visionaries. Entertainment and Sports Arena. Email Andrew Jacobs at a.jacobs@halcyonhouse.org.

SEPTEMBER 28

Human Rights Campaign National Dinner

The HRC National Dinner celebrates advancements in the fight for full LGBTQ equality. Walter E. Washington Convention Center. Email HRC events team at galadinners@hrc.org.

National Symphony Orchestra Season-Opening Gala

Gala proceeds support the NSO’s educational and community engagement programs. Kennedy Center Concert Hall and the Reach. Call John Guastello at 202-416-8102.

OCTOBER 11

AfterDark4THEARC

The evening benefits Building Bridges Across the River’s work on behalf of children and adults who reside east of the Anacostia River. The Wharf (concert at the Anthem followed by dinner at the Intercontinental). Contact Beth Sadler at 202-889-5901, ext. 100, or bsadler@thearcdc.org.

OCTOBER 17

Sibley Memorial Hospital Soirée

Sibley Memorial Hospital relies on the support of the community to maintain a standard of excellence in public health services. Embassy of France. Contact Casey Cave at 202-660-6539 or ccave@jhmi.edu.

OCTOBER 18

The Washington Ballet’s Grand Jeté Soirée

The Women’s Committee of the Washington Ballet will host the season-opening celebration with an exclusive preview of dancers performing an excerpt from NEXTsteps. Smithsonian American Art Museum, Kogod Courtyard. Email Emily Magenheimer or Rebecca Soloway at rsvp@washingtonballet.org.

OCTOBER 19

Human Rescue Alliance’s Bark Ball

This is the only black-tie gala where guests are encouraged to bring their canine companions as their dates. Washington Hilton. Call 202-735-0324 or email events@humanerescuealliance.org.

Woolly Mammoth’s Dinner on Stage

Guests can explore backstage with a cocktail in hand, revel in magnetic performances and enjoy an elegant dinner on stage. Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company. Call Annalise Aguirre at 202-312-5265 or email events@woollymammoth.net.

OCTOBER 22

Human Rights Campaign Foundation’s Chefs for Equality

Over 150 of Washington’s greatest chefs, bakers and mixologists participate to benefit the fight for full LGBTQ equality. Washington National Cathedral. Email chefstickets@hrc.org.

OCTOBER 24

March of Dimes Foundation’s Signature Chefs Auction

Signature Chefs showcases the city’s culinary masters as they raise funds for programs sponsored by the March of Dimes Foundation. Marriott Marquis. Contact Kate Leib at 571-257-2309 or kleib@marchofdimes.org.

OCTOBER 25

Meridian Ball

Guests attend one of 35 ambassador-hosted dinners, followed by dessert and dancing at the historic Meridian House. Meridian House. Contact Olivia Dorieux at 202-939-5892 or odorieux@meridian.org.

Salvation Army Women’s Auxiliary Fashion Show

The 70th anniversary Fashion Show Luncheon and Auction, in partnership with Bloomingdale’s, supports local Salvation Army programs. Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner. Call 202-756-2618 or visit salvationarmynca.org.

OCTOBER 26

Washington International Horse Show President’s Cup Party
The evening includes a world-class equestrian competition and benefits the United States Equestrian Team Foundation. Capital One Arena, Stella Lounge VIP Club. Email Mary Helen Shaughnessy at maryhelen@wihs.org.

PEN/Faulkner Gala: RISE UP!

Event proceeds help underwrite the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction and Writers in Schools programming. Katzen Arts Center. Contact Shahenda Helmy at 202-898-9063 or shahenda@penfaulkner.org.

NOVEMBER 2

Colorectal Cancer Alliance’s Blue Hope Bash

Proceeds benefit the Colorectal Cancer Alliance and its research, prevention and patient support programs. Andrew Mellon Auditorium. Call Stephanie Marcos-Hanns at 202-628-0123 or email bluehopebash@ccalliance.org.

National Italian American Foundation Gala

The 44th annual event is dedicated to preserving, promoting and protecting Italian American heritage. Omni Shoreham Hotel. Email information@niaf.org.

NOVEMBER 4

Shakespeare Theatre Company Gala

The gala provides funding for the Shakespeare Theatre Company’s arts education and community engagement programs. National Building Museum and Sidney Harman Hall. Call Clare Klanderman at 202-547-3230, ext. 2327, or email stcgala@shakespearetheatre.org.

NOVEMBER 7

Knock Out Abuse Against Women Gala

Proceeds from the event provide funding for four local beneficiaries that aid survivors of domestic violence. Ritz-Carlton, Washington, D.C. Visit knockoutabuse.org.

NOVEMBER 9

SOME (So Others Might Eat) Gala

The annual gala supports SOME’s affordable housing programs for homeless and low-income families. National Building Museum. Contact Ingrid Feigenbaum at 202-750-3738 or ifeigenbaum@some.org.

NOVEMBER 14

Fight Night 2019

The evening’s proceeds help improve the lives of at-risk children throughout the Mid-Atlantic through quality youth sports programming. Washington Hilton. Contact Judy Wrench at 202-772-0417 or judy.wrench@fightforchildren.org.

Lab School of Washington Gala

All funds raised will go toward financial aid for students and professional development opportunities for the Lab School’s educators. National Building Museum. Contact Dia Ruocco at 202-944-2204 or dia.ruocco@labschool.org.

NOVEMBER 17

National Portrait Gallery’s American Portrait Gala

The American Portrait Gala was established in 2015 to strengthen the National Portrait Gallery’s endowment for exhibitions and to focus attention on contemporary artists. Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery. Call 202-633-8309 or email npg_gala@si.edu.

NOVEMBER 23

Georgetown Comprehensive Cancer Center’s Lombardi Gala
Proceeds from the gala will fund world-class research and treatment programs at Georgetown Lombardi. Ritz-Carlton, Washington, D.C. Contact Sharon Courtin at 202-687-3866 or sc830@georgetown.edu.

DECEMBER 8

Kennedy Center Honors

Artists to be honored in 2019: Earth, Wind & Fire, Sally Field, Linda Ronstadt, Sesame Street and Michael Tilson Thomas. Kennedy Center Opera House. Email honors@kennedy-center.org.

The Washington Ballet’s Nutcracker Tea Party
The holiday tradition includes a ticket to “The Nutcracker” at the Warner Theatre and an elegant tea party. Willard Intercontinental Hotel. Email Emily Magenheimer or Rebecca Soloway at rsvp@washingtonballet.org.

DECEMBER 16

Choral Arts Society of Washington’s Holiday Concert & Gala

The evening incudes a holiday concert, dinner and dancing. Kennedy Center. Contact Regina Burgher at 202-244-3669 or rburgher@choralarts.org. 

JANUARY 9

Washington Winter Show Preview Night

The VIP reception affords a first look at the show. Katzen Arts Center. Contact Jonathan Willen at 202-248-7159 or jon@jonathangwillen.com.

JANUARY 18

Russian Ball

The Russian Ball is the leading heritage event celebrating Washington’s Russian community. Private social club. Email therussianball@gmail.com.

Share this:

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.