Artswatch: August 17, 2022 Issue

 This month’s Artswatch has lots of news about local museums, Dance Place, Evermay and more.   

D.C.’s New Rubell Museum Lands Inaugural Director 

Caitlin Berry will be the first director of the new Rubell Museum in Washington. The museum will open October 29 and will exhibit contemporary art works drawn from the Rubell’s vast collection of paintings, sculptures, photos, videos and more. Before joining the museum, Berry served as director of the Cody Gallery at Marymount University in Arlington.  

Air and Space Museum to Reopen Renovated West End 

October will be a busy time for the District — The National Air and Space Museum announced its reopening of their renovated part of the museum October 14. Eight new and refurbished exhibits, the planetarium, gift shop and café will all be unveiled following a seven-year renovation of D.C.’s most visited museum. Free timed-entry passes will available on the museum’s website beginning September 14.  

Dance Place Names New Executive Director, Internal Reorganization 

Dance Place Board of Directors has named Andre Mazelin as executive director as of August 1. Mazelin will oversee Dance Place’s development and growth, talent acquisition, operational oversight and more. He most recently was senior manager for Prince George’s Community College Center for Performing Arts (and was a member of its launch team in 2019). The board of directors also announced internal reorganization to aid operational efficiencies to strengthen their mission of building a community of artists, audiences and students.  

S&R Evermay Announces 2022 Washington Award Winners 

Evermay Estate of Georgetown. Georgetowner photo.

Now in its 21st year, S&R Evermay announced its latest Washington Award winners, recognizing artists whose work is focused on social impact and inspiring social change. The winners are Tarik Konshens, Fargo Nissim Tbakhi, Robert “Bambi” Woofter, Omolara Williams McCallister, Zsudayka Nzinga, Sarah Beth Oppenheim, Lory Ivey Alexander, Jordann Wine, Jessica Valoris, Chloe Varelidi and Callie Rae. The Washington Award features two different kinds of prizes. One is a traditional $12,500 cash prize given to one artist in four artistic disciplines and the new Fillmore prize, which gives studio space for eight artists at the Fillmore School, located in Georgetown.  

Ari Roth, A. Lorraine Robinson to Collaborate on New Theater Initiative 

Theater multi-hyphenate Ari Roth and veteran director, producer and educator A. Lorraine Robinson have joined together to create “Voices Festival Productions,” to develop and produce plays and the occasional musical that spark debate, introspection and discourse. More information on their efforts can be found at   

Adam Immerwahr Leaves Theater J for Washington State 

After over six seasons as artistic director at Theater J, Adam Immerwahr will be bound for the northwest. He’ll become artistic director of Village Theatre in Washington State. While at Theater J here in D.C., Immerwahr launched signature programs like Classes for Theater Lovers, The Yiddish Theater Lab and Expanding the Canon.  














Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *